French Countryside Bebe Fete

My dear friend is having a baby this month.  A few weeks ago I hosted a celebration in her honor. It turned out great.  The menu was delightful – I felt it was worth sharing.

In seeking inspiration, I scoured blogs and websites (of course) and lo and behold – Martha Stewart does not disappoint!  I settled on Martha’s menu for a French Countryside shower.  Perfect, as the mama-to-be is a true francophile.  ImageOn the menu:

ImagePotato Leek Soup – Such a straightforward and delicious recipe.  I have welcomed this recipe into my rotation.  Served in mugs for ease.

ImageRadishes with Chives – These are so simple, pure, and delicious.  The bed of salt that they are presented on also adds a world of flavor.

ImagePisaladiere – the onions that cook down for over an hour with a touch of sugar are like candy, wow

ImageMacarons – Martha suggested and provided a recipe for Madeleines.  I took liberty to “outsource” dessert and I decided on an assortment of macarons from Chantal Guillon in Hayes Valley.Image

Chocolates – A nod to our hometown, we’ve been friends for 30 years, the chocolates came from Sweet Surrender in Bakersfield.

Strawberry, Banana, Orange Mimosas

Ice Tea

ImageI kept the decorations fairly simple.  On my last trip to Texas Antiques Week I found the ‘bebe’ letters at one of my favorite vendors – Clutter.  They are vintage float letters from a parade in San Antonio.

ImageMy mother lent me this beautiful French Toile tablecloth and shared some of her serving pieces with me.

ImageMister awaiting our guests!

What do you think?  Might you try some of these recipes yourself?  I would personally make each of them again (Thank You Martha).  Bon Appetit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ooh la la, Real Projects, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

