What a month March was!  I feel very fortunate to have wonderful projects to sink my teeth into for 2012.  I am finishing a gorgeous master bedroom suite for a SF Victorian and in the midst of two kitchen remodels that I can’t wait to share with you.

Some of you know that I also have exciting news on a personal level, I am getting married in the fall!  I am so grateful for these many blessings but I must admit that it is a juggling act and I have been slacking on the blog posts – please forgive me.

I squeezed a trip to the Marburger & Round Top shows last week for client shopping and design inspiration.  I focused on really living in the moment, so I did not take many pictures but I thought you might like to see the highlights.

Image

Austin is my preferred gateway to the shows.  I read about Fonda San Miguel in The Daily Meal’s 101 Best Restaurants in America for 2012 (thanks Preston) and I thought it would be the perfect start to the trip.  Upon landing, we dropped our bags and set out to find Fonda San Miguel.  If you are planning a trip to Austin – GO.  You will not be disappointed!  The rellenos are AMAZING.  The house made sorbets are probably the best I have ever tasted.  The margaritas are mighty fine too!

Image

The first day, this charming sink caught my eye.  Isn’t it just the sweetest with the leaf design soap insets and curved vanity?  I wish that I had a current client this would be delightful for.  I’ll have to settle for inspiration.Image

A new vendor to me at the show was a dealer of antique and vintage Goyard and Louis Vuitton trunks.  I occasionally see a piece or two at the shows but what a treat to see such a vast collection in one place.  Isn’t the taxidermy leopard something?Image

The booth was swarming with interested shoppers!

Image

My favorite was this Louis Vuitton piece with red stripes.  Wouldn’t it make a magnificent coffee/cocktail table?

Image

Another fantastic find – this sweet wardrobe/dresser/armoire combination.  This was a strong consideration for a client’s dressing room but ultimately we decided that it was too cottage chic and feminine for the overall design concept.Image

Here is a beautifully carved trestle extension table.  Form and function – I love it!

Image

This was a quirky and fun update to a mid-century table.  This vendor completely decoupaged this coffee table with pages from a French dictionary.  The best part – she shellacked the top so that no coaster is necessary.

Image

And the piece de resistance…this epic duchesse brisee.  “Broken Duchess” in French, this set can be joined together making a chaise or separated into two chairs and ottoman.  Excited to see this re-uphostered!

Hope you enjoyed a visual taste of Texas Spring Antiques Week.  My overall impressions were there were lots of fantastic finds and the shoppers were back!  If this show is a preview of what’s to come, I’d say the economy is picking up.  Time will tell.

3 Comments

April 9, 2012 · 5:08 pm

3 responses to “Impressions of Texas Spring Antiques Week

  1. Pingback: French Countryside Bebe Fete | KMD

  2. Selena

    That was fun! Those LV trunks are divine and that chaise is so cool!

Leave a Reply

