San Diego Design “Walkabout”

What a great day I had in San Diego exploring the design district in Little Italy!  The temperature was lovely, the sun came out to greet me.  I walked from my hotel in the Gaslamp district to Kettner Blvd. in Little Italy.
My first stop was Mixture for home furnishings.  This is a large warehouse type space with lots of merchandise.  Fun “mixture” of modern and sculptural elements.  I really loved the artwork and driftwood sculpture on offering.

Okay – how crazy, fun, cool is this pig table?  Every room needs a touch of black right?

Or how about a life size horse lamp?  I think the horse would be my pick if I had the space…maybe a loft?

I thought these sweet driftwood bird sculptures were just precious…

This wall desk is very clever for a small, clean space.  Loving the impact of the artwork that is reminiscent of graffiti.


As I carried on north on Kettner from Mixture I started seeing these great graphic banners on the street in Little Italy.  No question what neighborhood we’re in!

I stumbled upon Antiques on Kettner.  Display case after case of antiques.  All grouped by item type and color…

Isn’t this a fun vintage electric sign?

I’ve been wanting a cake plate and dome for a while now.  I was so tempted to purchase this vintage, etched piece but couldn’t figure out how I’d get it home without shipping it.

My favorite find was Architectural Salvage.

Upon entering, I didn’t know where to look.  Everything is so GOOD.

Great salvaged tiles.

Intricate register covers.

Bin after bin of cool hardware.

Wow, what a selection?

Sorbet colored light globes.  Divine.

The proprietor, Enrique, is incredibly friendly and helpful.  There is even a sweet store kitty, Patina.  She’s a calico!  I love her name.  Such a fun and inspirational browse.

Walking back toward the Gaslamp district, came upon this darling neighborhood sign on the main drag of Little Italy.

Stumbled upon a darling local church, “Our Lady of The Rosary”.

I popped in for a quiet moment and to take a quick peak.  Such a sweet place of worship.

Beautiful stained glass windows.

Nice pottery…

While I was looking around the church, guests for a wedding started to arrive.  I quickly departed…didn’t want to interrupt.  It was a fun end to my design “walkabout”.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

