Spotlight: Cooking Club “Take Me Out To The Ballgame”

June’s cooking club, hosted by Katie, was “Take Me Out To The Ballgame”:  Modern cuisine inspired by ballpark favorites.

I was on deck for appetizers. My selection…nacho’s. I used this recipe from Epicurious:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Turkey-Nachos-105717 (Substituting a roast chicken for the turkey)

This was a big hit!  The lime juice does wonders to season the chicken and I selected the amazingly delicious tortilla chips from Primavera at Whole Foods.

I also made Napa Valley Guacamole featured in the SF Junior League cookbook featuring onions roasted with red wine and balsamic.  Tasty.

Our hostess added a wonderful spinach, strawberries, and walnut salad of her own design for nutritional balance.

Followed by the piece de resistance….Cheddar Dogs with Cider – Braised Leeks and Apples:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Cheddar-Dogs-with-Cider-Braised-Leeks-and-Apples-353787

Made with high quality sausages and brioche buns from La Boulangerie.  Wow, wow, wow.  Better than any ballpark dog that I have ever had.

Accompanied by Nicole’s fresh corn salad:

Similar to http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Avocado-and-Corn-Salsa-231541

Perfection.

The finale was Shannon’s Root Beer Float Granita:

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Avocado-and-Corn-Salsa-231541

I’m still giggling about our conversation on how you make the granita…goes a little something like “Who’s on First”.  Just call me Costello!

Perfect eats for your 4th of July weekend.  Everything thing came out so lovely and I highly recommend it with our accompanying beverages, lemonade and Anchor Steam’s Summer Brew.

If you would like to see picture of our member’s in future posts, give a shout!  Cooking club is camera shy this month.  If we get enough support, maybe I can convince them!

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking Club

3 responses to “Spotlight: Cooking Club “Take Me Out To The Ballgame”

  1. Rebecca

    I want to see their smiling faces too! Looks like such a lovely evening.

  2. Carol Ghufran

    Love it! Always enjoy your posts Kari. Jack is having a baseball themed 6th Birthday party on the 7th, but the fare will be a tad bit more pedestrian! This gives me some inspiration for “adult food”! BTW – would love to see a pic of your fellow gastronomists 🙂

    • So great to hear from you Carol! Yay for Jack’s 6th birthday! Definitely try the dogs, the sweet and salty together is divine.

      My fellow gastronomist…I’m going to borrow this term. I love it! I’m going to guilt them into participating in photos one way or the other 🙂

      Happy 4th!

      Kari

Leave a Reply

