Meet Janset Bilgin

During my Veranda Designer Tour of Istanbul I met the most lovely jewelry designer, Janset Bilgin.

Janset was also one of our guides through Sea Song.  Here is Janset on the left with our other wonderful guide Anka…

One of the Veranda Magazine “insider” recommendations was the fashion atelier of Umit Unal where Janset’s jewelry is available.

Here Janset introduces us to Umit Unal.

Such a creative boutique.

Wonderful vignettes everywhere you look…

And here was Janset’s jewelry!  I fell in love with the most amazing silver piece necklace on a fuschia color cord.  It happened to match what I was wearing that day.  When I found out it was Janset’s original design I was delighted!  All the more special.

Many of the women in our group fell in love with her unique pieces and we had such fun selecting our favorites!

Here I’m wearing my newly acquired Janset Bilgin original.  It is a piece of vintage silver from Uzbekistan with pieces of suede on a fuschia color cord.  Janset shared with me that she finds many of her materials from sources in the Grand Bazaar and since many are vintage, most are unique.

I asked Janset to share with us how long she has been designing jewelry and what inspires her.  In Janset’s words…

“I ve been making jewellery for 12 years.And as you know I use different materials lıke leather,suede,sılver,bras,old fabric and semiprecious stones and antique pieces. My ınspiration is ancient works which were made by very primitive tools. And circle shapes.Lıke the belief of whirling dervishes. “everythıng whirles”

I dont lıke machıne made,perfect looking jewellery.So I make every lıttle piece by hand.Hammered look ıs my favourite…”

Her pieces have soul.  Organic, warm, and unique.  Following are photos of some of Janset’s recent work.

Janset Bilgin has a website coming soon.  In the meantime I’m thinking of selling her jewelry in a joint show this spring with another artist that I discovered who also makes unique pieces from vintage scraps, Janet Waldrop “Skip To My Lou”.  https://karimcintoshdesign.wordpress.com/2010/04/27/texas-spring-antiques-week-2010-part-3-–-purchases-skip-to-my-lou/

I feel these lines will compliment each other nicely.

What do you think?  Would you be interested in such a show?  Would love to hear from you!

 

6 Comments

Filed under Things I like, Travel treasures

6 responses to “Meet Janset Bilgin

  1. Kari, just stopping by to wish yoy and yours a Happy Thanksgiving!

    Yes, you can count on me for buying a unique piece of jewelry! How much is the ring??!!

    Love to you, Mom

  2. Excellent, Kari. This is a great post on Janset’s work. I’ve been an avid follower of her unique designs since their inception. Besides being a loyal friend, she’s a women of style (like yourself) with unmatched sensibilities, exuding mastery in storytelling through her artisanhip . Kudos to you for noticing her craft.

  3. Kari,
    I loved this post.. just like I loved Janet Waldrop’s feature… I would love to come to a show! They both have such unique and beautiful pieces.

    • Thanks Selena! I only wish I could transport Janset here in person. She’s so charming. This is all such good feedback. I’ll have to work on this!

  4. Rebecca

    Amazing stuff. I’m in love with the ring. So incredible.

Leave a Reply

