Fall Cooking Club – Seasonal Food & “San Francisco Entertains” Cookbook

We celebrated Fall with seasonal food.

Stephanie’s appetizer…Ciabatta Pizza with Gorgonzola, Walnut Pesto and Pears.  OMG, ladies and gentleman you must make this appetizer.  The walnut pesto is simply HEAVEN!  http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Ciabatta-Pizza-with-Gorgonzola-Walnut-Pesto-and-Pears-232686

Next up was Selena’s Fall Salad.  Fresh and delicious!  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/fall-salad-recipe/index.html

The main event was Nicole’s rustic and amazing Pork Loin with Fig and Port Sauce. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/pork-loin-with-fig-and-port-sauce-recipe/index.html

Nicole’s Roasted Potatoes and Katie’s Honey Glazed Parsnips and Carrots were the perfect accompaniment and would also make great side dishes for Thanksgiving.  http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Honey-Glazed-Roasted-Carrots-and-Parsnips-233404

The dessert is from yours truly…Pineapple Upside-Down Pumpkin Ginger Cake.

I admit, it is not the prettiest presentation.  (I certainly have ideas on how to improve and perfect this for next time) but boy is that cake batter delicious. Highly recommend it!  http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Pineapple-Upside-Down-Pumpkin-Gingerbread-350121

Love my cooking club gals!

In other local epicurean news, I just purchased the Junior League of San Francisco’s Cookbook, “San Francisco Entertains”.

I’ve been reading through the cookbook and there are some very interesting recipes that I’m looking forward to trying.  Besides several recipes from local celebrity chefs, members contributed their recipes and each was triple tested.  The recipes with the highest scores made the book.  I also appreciate how there are menu suggestions for every occasion.

For more information and to purchase…http://www.jlsf.org/sf/npo.jsp?pg=fundraiser&article=530&tab=Overview

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking Club

6 responses to “Fall Cooking Club – Seasonal Food & “San Francisco Entertains” Cookbook

  1. Hey Kari!
    Thanks so much for the plug for SF Entertains – I’m glad you’re excited to cook from it! I hope you’re well!
    xoxo
    Amy

    • Hi Amy,

      What a pleasant surprise to hear from you! Great cookbook, really looking forward experimenting. I’ll keep you posted on my favorites 🙂

      All the best,

      Kari

  2. Carol Ghufran

    Kari, every time I read your blog about your dinner club it makes me hungry! I am going to make the ciabatta pizza this weekend for a high tea, but do it bite size on a thinner, rustic bread. I have been looking for one more addition to my repertoire and think I have found it. Thanks for the idea!

    Carol

  3. Shannon

    Great pics Kari… I want to eat each and every one of these dishes again!!!!

Leave a Reply

