Cukurcuma District in Istanbul

Part of the Veranda Designer Tour of Istanbul included an afternoon shopping in Cukurcuma neighborhood.  This funky antiques district is set in the heart of artsy Beyoglu quarter.  This neighborhood was once home to a large Greek community and has kept a balance of original flea market charm meets serious antiques.

The highlight was the three-storied Alaturca House where owner, Erkal Aksoy invited us for a lovely reception.

What a store!  So many wonderful vignettes, I didn’t know where to look.

This was my first glimpse of 100’s of antique kilims all in a row.  Took my breath away.

Terrific silver.  Saw these all over Turkey.

I love all of the globes grouped together!  Simply divine.

Down on the basement were these beauties…many vessels with patina.

An entire room filled with MORE silver.  WOW.

Interesting garden and architectural pieces too!

If you are traveling to Istanbul, be sure to visit Alaturca House.  http://www.alaturcahouse.com/

Next door was the fabulous Hall Istanbul.

I didn’t take photos inside but I had the pleasure to meet owner, Christopher Hall.  His shop integrates antiques with vintage and contemporary pieces.  My kind of place!  Christopher shared with me that ABC Carpet & Home will soon carry some of their furniture.  They have a fairly comprehensive website that offers just a peek of what they offer.  http://www.hallistanbul.com/about.aspx

While we were waiting for our group to reconvene, I shot what might be my favorite candid from the entire trip.  A man and his dog watching the street.  Later they came down and spoke with us.  Winds up that he is a friend of our tour guides who later told us that he is a famous interior designer.  His dog obviously loves him very much as he stood looking adoringly at his owner while he greeted us.  I asked him what his dog’s name was.  He replied with a Turkish name which means “peanut”.  Too cute.

You may remember that I mentioned the Turkish InStyle Home magazine that I picked up in the airport.  Well, this very gentleman is featured in the magazine.  His name is Hakan Ezer.  Makes sense because he has a design studio in the Cukurcuma District.  If you are curious about his portfolio (I sure was) his website is http://www.hakanezer.com/default.aspx

In other local happenings, the Elle Decor Showcase Home opens tonight!  I planned to attend the media preview yesterday but was celebrating the history making SF Giants instead.  I found a wonderful sneak peek online today that you might be interested.  From a great new (to me) blog, Stylenik.  I’ll be book marking this one!  http://stylenik.com/2010/11/04/top-san-francisco-designers-create-an-amazing-showhouse-for-elle-decor/

For more information on visiting…http://www.elledecor.com/elle-decor/articles/elle-decor-showhouse

2 Comments

Filed under Things I like, Travel treasures

2 responses to “Cukurcuma District in Istanbul

  1. Beautiful wanderings in Beyoglu, Kari.

  2. Kari,

    Did you book a container?! Oh My! I would have gone crazy in that store! May I ask about the prices. Are they comparable to here?

    Happy new week to you. And thank you for your always kind and generous comments. You are the best!

    ox, Mon

Leave a Reply

