100th Post!!! Filoli Garden Tour…

My 100th post!  I can’t believe it.  Here’s a toast to you, dear blog friends, for taking this journey with me.  It has been exciting to meet new friends in the design community and share with old friends a little bit about what makes me tick.

Now when friends, family, potential clients ask me about my specialties, my design approach or style, types of projects I work on, etc…I can point to this blog  to learn more about me.  Thank you for allowing me to share my ideas and your positive energy and reception.

This photo was taken in Santa Barbara and the Stone House at San Ysidro Ranch on my last birthday…love bubbles!

Now, on to the gardens of Filoli…

Living walls (or vertical gardens)have become really popular.  They improve buildings appearance and also have energy saving and air quality benefits.  I’m extremely inspired by Patrick Blanc’s work in Paris and Madrid.

The living wall is conceptual element for may latest commercial project – stay tuned.

But I digress…back to Filoli.  Their temporary exhibit for May was this vertical garden on the Dovecote by Robin Stockwell of Succulent Gardens in Castroville, CA.

Here’s a close-up of the vertical wall.  I really do love succulents and this is a great shot that demonstrates the texture and pattern effect of the living wall.

Here is the back of the house.  So pretty, with the bricks, windows, and dormers.  Love the pansies planted into the pots leading to the house…

Just to give you an idea of the enormity of the property, this shot is beyond the formal gardens, looking out towards the meadows.

One of my favorite spots…the Swimming Pool Pavilion.  The pool was added in 1946.  I love how relatively humble it is in relationship to the estate.  The pool mirrors the Clock Tower.  There is a gorgeous Sunburst Honey Locust behind the Pavilion.

Can’t you just imagine spending a summer afternoon sitting at the pavilion or having a dip in the pool…it looks so refreshing and inviting!

A close-up of that gorgeous Sunburst Honey Locust!

There were many pansies throughout the property.  These lovely purple ones framed the entrance of Filoli house.

My favorite pansies were in the swimming pavilion.  I just adored the muted tones and variety of colors of these potted pansies.

This is a shot from the vantage point at the “High Place” at the far southern end of the garden looking toward “Yew Allee”.  There are 200+ Irish Yews that were grown from cutting from the Bourns’ Muckross House in Ireland, they were then transplanted to the Bourns’ summer cottage in Grass Valley, and then here at Filoli.

I really love the ironwork of the gate that leads to the walled garden and the sundial.

A better view of the sundial here.  The sundial has an inscription that reads “Time Began in a Garden”

This is a shot of  The Wedding Place.  I believe the Bourns’ daughter was married at Filoli and I assume that “The Wedding Place” was where that happened.  Too bad the gardens are not available for current weddings or wedding photography.  I know a few brides that would jump at the chance.

I found this planting of shrubs particularly inspiring.  I really enjoy how they have planted different varieties of lavender and greens.  Makes such a wonderful texture and relatively easy to maintain in California climate.

I shared this shot with a client looking for something to plant under her olive trees and around her hydrangeas.  She loved this concept and the new plantings should happen this week!

A wider shot of the lavender shrubs, also with poppies and other flowering shrubs.

This garden of shrubs remind me of Provence and the Cezanne walks around Aix-en-Provence.

This is a wonderful garden room.  I can imagine the Bourns entertaining guests over dinner in the garden during the summer…

There were many wonderful flowers in the cutting garden.  Roses and peonies were blooming like crazy.  I came across these gorgeous flowers.  Does anyone know what they are?  They look like tissue paper to me.  I wonder if they are a variety of the peony?

Lovely pale violet color…

Palest of yellows…

Let’s not forget the pinks…

This simple surprise was among my favorite discoveries…a single rose, tucked into a silver vase, set into the niche in the stone wall.  Gorgeous!

If you haven’t discovered Filoli…now is the time.  I think you will like it!  To plan your visit, check out http://www.filoli.org/

12 Comments

Filed under Inspiration all around, Travel treasures

12 responses to “100th Post!!! Filoli Garden Tour…

  1. Hello! Lovely Pictures! And the flower you were wondering about is the Oriental Poppy. Many different colors, and you can always find seeds for them. Happy blogging! 🙂

    Jen

  2. linda

    the flower you wondered what it was? they are poppies!

  3. Congratulations Kari! To 100 wonderful posts and many more to come!

    Thank you for the garden tour (I am not very good with flowers and plants myself). And thank you for giving me a name to that beautiful tree – Sunburst Honey Locust. I think we need one in our back yard! I will send hubby to your blog.

    Much fondness, Mon

    • Thank you Monika!

      So nice of you to drop by…isn’t that tree to die for! I was just mesmerized by it. I could have sat at that swimming pavilion for hours!

      Happy Wednesday to you!

      Kari

  4. Congrats on your milestone 100th post! May we enjoy many more from you. Loved this post on the gardens…I must take a trip up and good to see you here enjoying Santa Barbara. Have a wonderful weekend.

    ~jermaine~

  5. Katie

    Congratulations on your 100th post! Definitely a milestone to celebrate! Your blog is so inspiring and beautiful. It is such a delight to have a peek and what inspires you as a designer. I look forward to many many more posts.

    Cheers,
    Katie

  6. Great vertical gardens. Look forward to seeing your commercial project

    Lushe
    http://www.lushe.com.au

  7. Selena

    Kari! Congratulations on 100! I’ve enjoyed all of them! Thanks fir part 2 of Filoli.. It was so long ago that I visited and it is so magnificent! I will hopefully return someday soon! I love the lavendar varieties… Might try that myself! The lavendar planted under our tree house is the prettiest and lowest maintenance thing in our backyard right now!

Leave a Reply

