Texas Spring Antiques Week 2010 Part 3 – Purchases -“Skip To My Lou”


I promised to share with you some of my treasures from Texas Antiques Week.  Though I went focused to purchase bedside tables and sconces…I didn’t have much luck with “bigs”.  Feeling a bit discouraged, I took the opportunity to smell the roses and I mostly purchased “smalls” at the show.  A favorite find was jewelry made from vintage and found objects by Janet Waldrop of “Skip To My Lou”.  Janet is a certified jeweler and she makes the most charming pieces.

Here is a sampling of what I picked up…it was so difficult to decide as there were many WONDERFUL pieces to select from.  Equally charming is the way in which Linda merchandises, using old photographs.  She names each piece as well…1/2 of the fun most was reading and discovering about the pieces.  At one time I had 10 different items that I was holding on to but I managed to narrow my selection down to three.

Excuse my blurry picture…very difficult to photograph yourself in the mirror without hands getting in the way…Anyhow, this piece is titled “Winged Faith…Take off and hope for only the best!”  It is made from vintage enamel bracelet links the designer found in Paris with silver birds.  I love how they hang and swing when I’m wearing them.

The ring is made from a Victorian enameled buckle that Janet found in Paris!  It is titled “Heart Healing…Always know there is love in the world to be shared.”  So true.

These drop earrings are vintage rhinestone earrings with baroque pearls.  They are perfect for those moments when I can use a little “bling” in my life!

I truly adore these pieces.  They give me such joy each time I wear them.  I believe that Janet is a true artist.  If there is enough interest, I’m thinking of having a trunk show in the fall nearing the holiday season to share some of Janet’s creations, and other  vintage finds with you.  What do you think?

-Kari

Leave a comment

Filed under Things I like, Travel treasures, Vintage Finds

Leave a Reply

