Renew, Reuse, Recycle…While Keeping It In The Family

I’ve had this green console table for over 10 years.  I found it at Brown Dirt Cowboys in Russian Hill when I first moved to San Francisco in the 90’s.  Though it’s a great piece I felt it was a bit too rustic for my contemporary apartment building.  My mother had an amazing Victorian chinoiserie piece that hadn’t found the perfect fit in her new home.  I suggested a swap.  If a piece of furniture doesn’t work after a move, even though its great…why not swap with a family member or friend for a bit?

My green piece became a sofa table for my parents and the Victorian chinoiserie piece fits perfectly in my entry.  It’s tough to get a good shot of this piece so close in my hallway, but this is how it looked the day it was moved in.

Here’s how it looks today, view from my front door.  It’s now styled with my crystal pieces and a silver trophy found last weekend at the Alameda Antiques Market to bring out the silver details.  Now I’m on the hunt for the perfect pair of sconces for this space!  I think it adds a bit of sophistication to the entry.

Why not swap with a family member?  It’s a great way to try out new pieces and styles without spending more money.  You keep it in the family and continue to reuse and enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Before & After, Real Projects

2 responses to “Renew, Reuse, Recycle…While Keeping It In The Family

  1. Kari Dear,

    Wish I had a family member close by to swap with! Lovely! And every rooms needs at least one thing in black (for added drama). I am about to paint a brown, antique chest – glossy black. It will be my drama piece in my master bedroom. (Huz thinks I am crazy).

    Do I see a Swedish floor clock in the background?

    Hug, Mon

    • So true, Monika! It makes such a difference when at least one thing is black. Your antique chest sounds amazing. I can’t wait to see it in glossy black. You must post pictures when it’s through. Of course you noticed my Swedish clock! It was my prized purchase from my fall Marburger Farms trip. I’m headed back there in 2 weeks, cannot wait to see what I uncover. Stay tuned!

      Happy Wednesday to you! Kari

Leave a Reply

