Alameda Point Antiques and Collectibles Faire

For YEARS I’ve been saying that I will check out the Alameda Point Antiques and Collectibles Faire, held on the first Sunday of the month.  I FINALLY made it yesterday.  Alameda Point Antiques and Collectibles Faire is a nice source for accessories and other finds.

Some highlights:

This adorable yellow Schwinn attracted me on a lovely sunny day.  The dealer had some fun, glamorous signs, mirrors (see the Chanel-esque double CC’s on the mirror in the foreground), pastel horse competition ribbons, and pink glass.

Another fun, crusty bicycle (perhaps I’ve been watching too many “American Pickers” episodes on The History Channel…) highlights a very MANLY display with old signs and industrials.

I found this accordion style lamp at Big Daddy Antiques quite intriguing…this was a popular booth.

This adorable umbrella with lady divers attracted me immediately.  Too bad it was NFS (not for sale).  The dealer, Rocky Wagers, shared with me that he purchased this umbrella in Capitola from the original owner who used it on the beach in Capitola.  Rocky had some wonderful collections of Bakelite and Skookum dolls.  He told with me that his Bakelite collection had been featured in the SFO terminal display.  (Side note – I just LOVE flying through SFO domestic terminal and seeing the wonderful collections featured.  I’ve seen Tramp Art and other fun exhibits.)  Rocky also makes really interesting art from found objects that are featured by a Pasadena store call The Gold Bug.

Ironically, the dealers with wares that I was most attracted to and I actually purchased from also show in Texas.  My favorite purchases were from  Benjamin.  I hated to leave this wonderful Mennonite corner cabinet behind.  Benjamin told me that it came from Mexico when the Mennonite’s migrated to Mexico.

If you decide to go, the next show is Sunday, April 4th (Easter Sunday).  Don’t forget to bring plenty of cash.  There is one ATM machine but as you can see the line is LONG and sometimes the ATM runs out of money.

6 Comments

Filed under Things I like, Vintage Finds

6 responses to “Alameda Point Antiques and Collectibles Faire

  1. Yeah! I have actually been there once myself. It is such a fun place! But my huz was cranky and I remember dragging home a brown bag filled with old buttons – that I still don’t know what to do with… Next time I will tag along with you! Now, what did you bring home? Happy rest of the week, Mon

    • It was a fun way to spend a Sunday with my best treasure hunting partner…my mom 🙂 We came home with a wonderful quilt, handmade dolls from a child’s dollhouse, a set of creme stoneware mixing bowls, antique ink well bottles with seahorse top, and a vintage purse. Success! -K

  2. Bryan

    I have heard about this and always wanted to go. Now you have SOLD me. Great photos and descriptions.

  3. Selena, I think you and Bryan would get a kick out of it 🙂 – K

  4. Selena

    Thanks Kari! I will definitely try and go someday! Love the pictures.

Leave a Reply

