Design San Francisco – 2nd Day Highlights

Day 2 of Design San Francisco.  Interior Designer Bunny Williams was definitely a highlight of the day.  Bunny started her career working for Parish-Hadley Associates (Sister Parish and Albert Hadley).  As she described, she attended the school of Parish & Hadley.  Bunny Williams obviously has a wonderful command of color, texture, and eclecticism.

Something she spoke about that really resonated with me was the importance of imagining how the clients use the space.  She is always thinking of the client and as a result he body of work is very diverse, yet always beautiful.  You can tell that each project has a distinct personality of the client and not the designer doing the same look over and over again.

This is the sign of a great designer and I think approaching the work in this manner is challenging and also extremely fulfilling.  In essence, she is giving each client of project a UNIQUE solution just for them, something that I aspire to.

Bunny’s work got my creative juices flowing.  In particular, I am thinking of tweaking my bedroom.(Photograph by Gabriel Beszeda)

I’d like to add a canopy bed and hang a fabulous crazy quilt in pinks, corals, and blues that I found on my last antiques buying trip behind it.

I’m thinking of a simple iron bed, similar to the look above from Bunny Williams Connecticut home.  (Photograph by Fritz von der Schulenburg)

Or, perhaps a glamorous mirrored canopy bed with the textile behind it like Bunny Williams New York apartment here (Photograph by Pieter Estersohn).

What do you think?

2 Comments

Filed under Educational tidbits, Sublime Interiors

2 responses to “Design San Francisco – 2nd Day Highlights

  1. Debi delMonico

    I like the mirrored bed, but I’m in a mirrored furniture phase right now. I would love to put a mirrored chest in my daughter’s room.

    • It’s going to be a hard decision. I’m also thinking that I’ll move the vintage Asian end tables into my living room and I would love to find mirrored end tables at the flea market. So, if I find those the mirrored bed might be too much? I think it will come together once I figure out the end tables. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

