Royer’s Cafe…An Antique Week Institution!

royers

bud

rules

bathroom

me

pie

Ah…Royer’s Cafe in Round Top, Texas.  I first heard the legend of long waits for delectable steaks, pies, and the entertaining patriarch/host, Bud, about 12 years ago and had the chance to try it myself in the spring of 1999.  (That is Bud in the apron and orange cap minding the door, pardon my shaky photography).  Imagine my surprise a few weeks ago when I received an email from UrbanDaddy promoting pie for life from Royer’s Cafe for a mere $10,000…clever.

Yes, there is a wait.  Yes, it is hot (note the picture of a very tired and hot shopper, moi).  Yes, you feel that you must be on your very best behavior or you might be shown the door.

It’s worth it.  Besides sheer entertainment alone, the food is truly delicious.  I had the pork tenderloin with peach and pepper glaze…like candy.  I loved my sides too (creamed corn and black eyed peas).  The apple pie a la mode was amazing!

Every couple of shows we opt to forgoe a trip to Royer’s…too tired to wait, not in the mood, minding our girlish figures, etc, etc…We always regret it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cultural Icons, Travel treasures

Leave a Reply

