Antique Week Treasures

display case

horse

clock

So, I couldn’t go all the way to Texas without purchasing a few treasures for myself.  That would be next to impossible!

Clients often ask me how I shop flea markets and antique sales.  There are no right or wrong ways to do it.  I can only speak for myself.  Beforehand I prepare by making a list of items that I am looking for and taking measurements, samples of paint and fabrics with me, budget, etc.

Of course, you must also have an open mind to the treasures that jump out at you that you never realized you always wanted!  Case in point, the German beer finish display cabinet.  It is perfect for my small collection of vintage Halloween decorations and toys.  If you look closely at the front window, you can make out a Gothic “B” for BOO!

I also could not resist Mr. Wonderful, the well-loved horse pull toy.  He has a fantastic look…just the right amount of wear.  His coloring is perfect…neutral, organic, authentic…I know that he is going to be a marvelous addition to my eclectic interior.

The most exciting purchase, and piece that was actually on my list, is the Swedish clock.  I instantly loved this particular one, over all others.  The graphics and hands of the face spoke to me, as did the simplicity of the curved lines and ornamentation (which I feel are just the right amount).  I’m so excited to see this beauty in my home against my mirrored column…I feel this will be a nice juxtaposition of periods and materials.

Now, to wait for the shippers to deliver my treasures…2-8 weeks!  But, I’m patient and keeping my fingers crossed that they arrive in good shape.  It was a fruitful trip!

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration all around, Travel treasures, Vintage Finds

Leave a Reply

