Dreaming of a campaign bed…

napolean bedanthro furniture

Anthropologie’s Italian Campaign Bed

walker_bed

Oly’s Walker Bed

campCAN-504x418

Charles P. Rogers Beds Direct’s Campaign Canopy Bed

For years I’ve been dreaming of a canopy bed for my bedroom.  I’m fortunate to have tall ceilings that can handle such a bed and I think it would really add interest and verticality to my room.  These campaign beds would be perfect for me.

Campaign beds originated in the 18th century and designed for travel.  The beds could easily be broken down  and assembled for the journey.  I find the use inspiring and the purpose for travel resonates with me.  Good examples of campaign beds were noted during the Napoleanic era.

Of course, I have a very charming antique English brass & iron bed that I’m too practical to part with but someday…

Leave a comment

Filed under Colonial Stylings, Things I like

Leave a Reply

