‘Twas the night before Christmas in San Francisco

I love the city at Christmas.  I’m a sucker for the lights, greenery, and other magical window displays.  Finally a break in the weather and a wonderful time to wander the streets to soak in the holiday spirit.

Barney’s San Francisco had a great culinary exhibit which of course I enjoy because it reminds me of cooking club.

They also had local developmentally challenged artists paint their favorite chefs and those painting are on display and for sale inside the store.  My favorite is #10, Julia Child.  Bon Appetite!
Louis Vuitton’s windows were breathtaking!  They take me back to Thailand November 2008 for Loy Krathong, sending paper lanterns with wishes to the air.
Only these paper lanterns were made to look like luggage trunks.
Gumps had clever windows depicting holiday displays inside of retro television sets.  I especially appreciated the Nutcracker set.  Brings back nice memories dancing with Civic Dance Center and The Bakersfield Symphony so many years ago.
The rotunda of Neiman Marcus with its City of Paris stained glass windows and GIANT Christmas tree never fails to take my breath away.
Ralph Lauren showed a snowy scene with Native American motifs.  I’m looking forward to recreating my own snowy mountain scene in Tahoe for NYE!
Ralph Lauren’s Home store showed a wintry bedroom scene.  I could slumber well here, visions of sugar plums dancing through my head.
Hope you enjoyed a little tour of San Francisco’s finest window displays.  Merry Christmas to all!
2 Comments

Filed under San Francisco Treats, Things I like

2 responses to “‘Twas the night before Christmas in San Francisco

  1. Dear Kari,

    It’s been a crazy couple of months…just got caught up on some of your latest posts…great style and your trip to Istanbul looks fabulous…my Haleigh went to school there a few years back…wonderful to see it from a design perspective.
    Hope you continue to enjoy the wonder of the season and that the New Year is all you dream it to be.

    ~jermaine

  2. Bryan S.

    Kari, great photos. You really caught the spirit of Christmas and The City all in one. Makes people like me miss it this time of year, but so great to see on your blog. Thank you for sharing. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

